Department Links:-

About the Department

The Computer Science department of Samara University was established in the year 2007 G.C, with an initial four lecturers and one technical assistant. The department initially introduced degree program that focused on developing practical skills, particularly on the area of computing technology. Besides teaching and learning, the department is actively involved in various research and community service projects, short-term job-oriented trainings and consultancy activities in the areas of computer science technologies. Since 2009 G.C, the department is offering degree program in Computer Science in regular as well as extension mode.

Since its commencement, the department has grown up in students intake, resources and staff profiles. In 2018, it started a master degree program in extension program in the field of computer science to utilize the resources and capacity to serve the nation and region. The decision is taken on the basis of expansion of computer technologies in the country and its augmented demand for higher degree graduates in the stated field.

Currently, the department of Computer Science is running undergraduate programs in the regular, and Extension mode and postgraduate programs in the regular and Extension Program.


  • The Department of computer science is dedicated in producing competent computer scientists, to conducting and releasing problem solving research outputs, and providing need-based community services and transferring technologies to faster the development aspiration of the nation.


  • To be one of the top ten leading computing department in pastoral and agro-pastoral community development in East Africa by 2035

Department Facilities

  • The Department has enough computer laboratories for practical courses for both undergraduate and postgraduate students.

Department Administration

The Department Head is selected from among the teaching staff of the department on the basis of merit and interest as soon as the college announces the vacancy for the post. The term of office of the Department Head is two years.

Currently, Mr. Welday Gebrekirstos is serving as Head of the Department.

Contact Address


Mobile No: +251-914-834-360

P.O. Box: 132, Semera, Afar, Ethiopia.